“The Art Of Salesmanship”

Posted on May 31, 2007. Filed under: Internet marketing |

A couple of years ago I was watching an old episode of Seinfeld when I noticed that one of the characters names seemed oddly familiar to me.

I new that I had heard this name before in a book that I had read…but surely that wasn’t the same character.

So I continued watching.

After the show went off I went over to my personal library of books to see if in fact this was the same character that I had just saw on the show.

I flipped to the chapter where I remember reading about him…and there it was…

The same character that was on the show was the same one mentioned in the book.

The book by the way was method marketing by Dennis Hatch.

Now that I had confirmation – I thought…I’ll do a quick search online for him to see if there was any other info that I could dig up.

I was able to find a catalog.

But it didn’t seem like it had anything to really offer.

The clothing wasn’t really to my personal taste..but I figured what the heck..

I’ll see how he pitches them.

After reading a few ads..

I couldn’t believe the mini goldmine that I had just uncovered.

I’m personally not into digging for treasures..but this truly was the find of the century for me.

why?

Because reading his ads was like getting a one on one lesson in the art of salesmanship.

No school could teach you how to write salescopy this well. The old masters that were writing his ads were like that of a dying breed on copywriter.

And here it was..

Me..just some guy who happened to connect a character from a tv show with one mentioned in a marketing book…

Who knew that in so doing I would change my entire writing style from one of being laid back to that of being packed with emotions.

Fast forward to today.

The lessons I learned from the countless days of combing through all of his ads until they sunk into my memory.

The countless days of modeling his work.

It has paid off. I now have a skill that few people can perform well…and I can take it with me wherever I go.

Want to know the name of the character in the Seinfeld show that caused this change.

Peterman.

J. Peterman.

You can check out his catalog by going here.

That’s all for now.

Keir Smith

Grab your Free report that teaches beginners the exact same list marketing system

that every guru on the planet uses to make money on autopilot

Digg This! Digg This! Reddit! Reddit! Add to del.icio.us Add to del.icio.us Blink This! Blink This! Add to Furl Add to Furl Plug This! Plug This! Add to Yahoo! My Web Add to Yahoo! My Web

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

    About

    Learn The Insider Secrets To Building And Making A Monthly Income From Your Subscriber List

    RSS

    Subscribe Via RSS

    • Subscribe with Bloglines
    • Add your feed to Newsburst from CNET News.com
    • Subscribe in Google Reader
    • Add to My Yahoo!
    • Subscribe in NewsGator Online
    • The latest comments to all posts in RSS

    Meta

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

